War cemetery Vredenhof
Hidden in the green of nature and surrounded by dunes along Reddingsweg, is a cemetery for soldiers and people who drowned at sea during the first and second world war.
The cemetery was founded in 1920 by various people on the island including Ruurd Fenenga (Captain ), farmer Theunis Riekert Visser, farmer Rink de Boer and hotel owner Sake van der Werff.
The cemetery has graves for soldiers from Canada, Australia, France, Germany, Great-Britain and Polen.
In a collaboration between the Dutch association for war graves and islander Wyb-Jan Groendijk; the graves are well maintained. November is highlighted in the “island calendar” as the month of the walks; during this time there are frequent excursions to explore the cemetery guided by “Vredenhof” expert Wyb-Jan Groendijk.